School District


Home Buyers

Home Sellers


PA Homes for Sale

Dauphin Colleges & Schools

Dauphin County, Pennsylvania contains seven institutes of higher learning along with 12 public school districts.

Colleges and Universities

Dixon University Center

The Dixon University Center, located in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, is the location of the Office of the Chancellor and the central headquarters for the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education (PASSHE). In addition to administrative offices, the Dixon University Center also has classroom space, conference facilities and a meeting room for PASSHE's Board of Governors.

Harrisburg Area Community College

Formerly known as Harrisburg Area Community College (HACC), HACC, Central Pennsylvania's Community College is a community college in the United States serving the greater Harrisburg, Pennsylvania metropolitan area. HACC is accredited by the Commission on Higher Education of the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools. In 2005, Harrisburg Area Community College adopted the slogan: Central Pennsylvania's Community College. While Harrisburg Area Community College remains the college's full legal name, the college registered the legal alieas HACC, Central Pennsylvania's Community College in 2007 and began using that name almost exclusively.

HACC’s combined credit and noncredit programs serve approximately 60,000 persons annually as an increasing number of people turn to the College for personal and professional growth opportunities. The College’s more than 30,000 alumni, many of whom support the College with both their time and gifts, have achieved distinction in almost every field, including business, medicine, law, the arts, education, human and public service, the military, and the technologies.

Harrisburg University of Science and Technology

The Harrisburg University of Science and Technology is a private teaching university located in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. The university offers applied programs in the nationally critical Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) disciplines for a diversity of student learners. The University also matches students with mentors and requires internships. Harrisburg University is the first private, non-profit science and technology focused university to be chartered by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in more than 100 years. The National Center for Science and Civic Engagement is located at the university.

Penn State Harrisburg

Penn State Harrisburg, also called The Capital College, is an undergraduate college and graduate school of the Pennsylvania State University. The main campus of Penn State Harrisburg is located in suburban Middletown, Pennsylvania, 9 miles (15 km) south of Harrisburg. The campus enrolls nearly 4,000 students and offers two associate, 27 baccalaureate, 20 master's, and two doctoral degrees as well as certificate and certification programs.

The Penn State Eastgate Center opened in 1991 in downtown Harrisburg and maintains 2 classrooms, 2 microcomputer labs, administrative offices and a student lounge. One of the classrooms is equipped with PicTel capability. State agencies also occupy space in the building. Both traditional academic and continuing education courses are offered throughout the year. The Eastgate Center is home to the e-Commerce Center, which delivers business and technology related training to thousands of area residents each year.

Penn State Hershey Medical Center

Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center, located in Hershey, Pennsylvania 10 miles (17 km) east of Harrisburg, is Penn State’s medical school and is the only medical school and university hospital in Pennsylvania located outside the urban areas of Philadelphia and Pittsburgh.

Temple University Harrisburg Campus

Located at Strawberry Square, Temple University Harrisburg offers degrees in education, business, and social administration.

Widener University School of Law

Widener Law’s four certificate programs develop your expertise in specific areas of law. With proper planning, you may build a certificate into your Juris Doctor degree without prolonging your graduation date.

Public School Districts

There are 12 public school districts in Dauphin County:

  • Central Dauphin School District
  • Derry Township School District
  • Halifax Area School District
  • Harrisburg School District
  • Lower Dauphin School District
  • Middletown Area School District
  • Millersburg School District
  • Steelton-Highspire School District
  • Susquehanna Township School District
  • Susquenita School District (also in Perry County)
  • Upper Dauphin School District
  • Williams Valley School District (also in Schuylkill County)

©2015 Central Penn Multi-List, Inc.. All rights reserved. Information deemed reliable but not guaranteed and should be independently verified.